Wed 19 Apr 2023 11:02

On a windy Tuesday evening, seventeen Shire Hall stalwarts took to the field for the annual Kicking Cup. Last year's winner, Chris Harber, was absent so the stage was set for a new name to go on the trophy. Veteran Jonny Morris was in attendance alongside former winners Rhys Stewart, Luke Barefoot, Matt Margot and Sam Watkins. After some interesting styles of kicking in the first round, only 4 players managed enough success to progress to the second round - Arun Luis, Luke Barefoot, Rhys Stewart and Jonny Parry. Attempting kicks from 40 metres proved to be very difficult and after the dust had settled, it was Rhys who was triumphant, retaining his title for the third time, having won in 2018 and 2021. It is fitting that the 1st XV kicker wins this award - after all, there have been some strange names on the trophy!